My orchestration pal – through good and bad

Of all my college classes.

Of all my college books.

There is only one book I still have.

It’s a book that has never failed me.

It’s easily the one book I’ve referenced more than any other book in my career.

Samuel Adler’s “The Study of Orchestration”.

Samuel Adler's "The Study of Orchestration"

For a composer/arranger it’s a must.  Some much detail about every instrument, it’s strengths and weaknesses, how each instrument fits withing the ensemble, voicing suggestions, and a million bajillion more helpful things.

As you can tell by the photo, I’ve bookmarked many pages of the book.  The binding is broken too.  But you’ll have to pry this one from cold dead body.

Gosh.  I’m such a dork.

-mk

This entry was posted in kooman and dimond, michael kooman, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

